Skip to main content

Falcons depth chart: Kaleb McGary, Jamon Brown named starters 

With Week 2 officially underway, the Atlanta Falcons released an updated depth chart on Tuesday.

On offense, the Falcons named rookie first-round draft pick Kaleb McGary the starter at right tackle. McGary and Ty Sambrailo split reps during the Week 1 loss to the Vikings, and it appears McGary has won the job.


Atlanta's other first-round pick, Chris Lindstrom, was placed on injured reserve on Monday with a foot injury. Lindstrom will be able to return this season, but no official timetable or date has been set for his return.

To replace Lindstrom, the Falcons will start Jamon Brown at right guard. Brown battled with James Carpenter for the starting role at left guard during the preseason. Carpenter was ultimately named the starting left guard for Atlanta's season-opener and Brown was inactive.

No changes were made on the defensive side of the ball for the Falcons.

Listed below is a position-by-position breakdown of Atlanta's starting lineup with only the primary backups listed in parentheses.

To view the full depth chart, click here.


Notable moves: As noted above, McGary has won the right tackle job and Brown will start in place of Chris Lindstrom at right guard.

Wide receiver: Julio Jones, (Calvin Ridley)

Right tackle: Kaleb McGary, (Ty Sambrailo)

Right guard: Jamon Brown

Left guard: James Carpenter

Left tackle: Jake Matthews, (John Wetzel)

Tight end: Austin Hooper, (Luke Stocker)

Wide receiver: Mohamed Sanu, (Justin Hardy)

Running back: Devonta Freeman, (Ito Smith)

Quarterback: Matt Ryan, (Matt Schaub)

Fullback: Keith Smith


Notable moves: None.

Defensive end: Takk McKinley, (Adrian Clayborn)

Defensive tackle: Grady Jarrett, (Jack Crawford)

Defensive tackle: Tyeler Davison, (Deadrin Senat)

Defensive end: Allen Bailey, (John Cominsky)

Defensive end: Vic Beasley Jr.

Linebacker: Deion Jones, (Jermaine Grace)

Cornerback: Isaiah Oliver, (Damontae Kazee)


Kicker: Matt Bryant

Punter: Matt Bosher

Kick returner: Kenjon Barner

Punt returner: Kenjon Barner

Long snapper: Josh Harris

Related Content