Julio Jones, Matt Ryan, Ricardo Allen, Alex Mack named Falcons captains for 2019

Image from iOS (2)

The Atlanta Falcons have announced four season-long captains for the 2019 season. Those captains are safety Ricardo Allen, wide receiver Julio Jones, center Alex Mack and quarterback Matt Ryan.


Allen, 27, has been the team's starting free safety since 2015 and is widely regarded as one of the Falcons' defensive leaders. Jones, 30, is a two-time All-Pro and a six-time Pro Bowler who continues to be one of the very best players in the game. Mack, 33, joined the Falcons in 2016 and has started every game during that stretch, earning three straight Pro Bowl nods. Ryan, 34, won the NFL's MVP award in 2016 and is the most accomplished quarterback in Falcons history.

"All of us around here feel it," Coach Dan Quinn said of Ryan. "He's always pushing, always trying to take it to the next level. Matt's not only an excellent leader, he's one hell of a competitor."

In addition to the four permanent captains, the Falcons will have a rotating fifth captain spot for each game. The fifth captain for Sunday's season-opener against the Minnesota Vikings is De'Vondre Campbell, who was drafted by the Falcons in 2016 and has since been a key starter on defense.

Related Content