Skip to main content

Tevin Coleman, Grady Jarrett headline list of Falcons scheduled to become free agents in 2019

FLOWERY BRANCH, Ga. – Much like any year, the Falcons' roster will change this offseason with free agency and the draft quickly approaching.

Falcons general manager Thomas Dimitroff and head coach Dan Quinn are hard at work on their roster evaluations.


The new league year begins on March 13th at 4 p.m. ET and the following 18 players are scheduled to become free agents (safety Brian Poole will be a restricted free agent and receiver Marvin Hall is set to be an exclusive restricted free agent):

  • Andy Levitre, G
  • Matt Schaub, QB
  • Ben Garland, G
  • Derrick Shelby, DE
  • Justin Bethel, CB
  • Terrell McClain, DT
  • Bruce Irvin, DE
  • Jon Condo, LS
  • Logan Paulsen, TE
  • Kemal Ishmael, SS
  • Ty Sambrailo, LT
  • Jordan Richards, SS
  • Zane Beadles, G
  • Blidi Wreh-Wilson, CB
  • Tevin Coleman, RB
  • Steven Means, DE
  • Justin Hardy, WR
  • Grady Jarrett, DT

The Falcons could sign any of these players to extensions before free agency begins, ensuring they remain on the roster when the new league year begins. Jarrett could be one of those players as Dimitroff said he's someone the Falcons want to have around for a long time.

Each year Dimitroff and Quinn spend a lot of time examining their roster and deciding who they'll let hit the market and who they will lock up.

Dimitroff has said in previous years that free agency and the draft serve as juxtaposition to one another. Meaning, if the upcoming draft class is loaded at one particular position, they might be more inclined to address their need through a draft pick, rather than free agency and vice versa.

The Falcons own the No. 14 pick in the NFL Draft this year.

Related Content