Skip to main content

Falcons' QB coach Greg Knapp on Matt Ryan: Everything matters, he doesn't let things slide in the offseason

FLOWERY BRANCH, Ga. – Entering his 11th NFL season, Matt Ryan's desire to improve his game and his meticulous preparation is what makes him one of league's most consistent quarterbacks, year in and year out.

Whether it's a weight lifting session, film study or practice, every detail matters to Ryan.

At age 33, Ryan has figured out a process that works for him and he sticks to it, no matter what. But he's always looking for that edge to get better every year. And not only does Ryan demand a lot from himself in hopes he can be the best for his team, Ryan challenges his teammates and coaches as well.

Playing under his fourth offensive coordinator and sixth position coach, Ryan's ability to stay true to his process and identity has allowed him to deal with any adversity he faces.

And according to new quarterbacks coach Greg Knapp, Ryan's discipline and attention to detail is what stands out above all.

"He does remind me of a lot of some great ones I've worked with in that he doesn't let something slide," Knapp said. "Everything matters… whether it's the way you're watching tape, whether it's the practice, that to me is every indicator [of] a Pro Bowl, MVP quarterback. They don't let things slide in the offseason. And that's going to carry over in season."

Knapp has worked with several talented quarterbacks over his tenure including Peyton Manning, Carson Palmer and Michael Vick to name a few.

The Falcons hired Knapp in February after Bush Hamdan left to become the offensive coordinator at the University of Washington. Knapp brings a wealth of experience in not only coaching quarterbacks, but running the wide zone scheme Atlanta runs.

This is Knapp's second stint with the Falcons as he previously served as the offensive coordinator on Jim Mora's staff from 2004-2006. Knapp was the Falcons' offensive coordinator from 2004-2006. Following his time with the Falcons, Knapp worked with the Oakland (2007-2008, 2012), Seattle (2009), Houston (2010 and 2011) and Denver (2013-2016).

Related Content