Skip to main content

Smith Contends For AP Coach Of Year Award


The Associated Press revealed its annual Coach of the Year award winner Wednesday night on NFL Network, and Falcons head coach Mike Smith was in contention to receive the honor for the second time in three years.

New England Patriots head coach Bill Belichick, however, easily won the award with 30 of the 50 available votes. Buccaneers head coach Raheem Morris finished with 11.5 votes and Chiefs head coach Todd Haley had 4.5.

Smith, Eagles head coach Andy Reid, Bears head coach Lovie Smith and Rams head coach Steve Spagnuolo each received one vote.

Smith was named the AP Coach of the Year in 2008 after leading the Falcons to a playoff berth despite low expectations from the national media.

In 2010, Smith led the Falcons to a 13-3 regular season record, an NFC South title and the NFC's No. 1 seed in the 2010 playoffs.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content