Skip to main content

Rookie Recognition


The Atlanta Falcons today announced that wide receiver Julio Jones, punter Matt Bosher and linebacker Akeem Dent have all been named to the Pro Football Weekly/Pro Football Writers of America All-Rookie team.

Jones ranked second among rookies with 959 yards on 54 catches and led all first-year receivers with eight touchdowns despite missing three games. His 959 receiving yards and eight touchdowns were the most by a Falcons rookie, while his 54 receptions rank second behind Shawn Collins who caught 58 passes in 1989.

Bosher averaged 42.7 yards per punt, with four touchbacks and placed 27 punts inside the 20-yard line. His 27 punts inside the 20 ranked tied for 10th in the NFL and tied for the fourth most in a single-season in franchise history. Additionally, the Falcons punt coverage unit allowed an NFL best 4.8 yards per return.

Dent made an instant impact on special teams in his first season with the Falcons notching a team-high 19 special teams tackles. His 19 stops on special teams were tied for the second-highest total in team history behind Artie Ulmer who had 21 in 2002.

Since 2008, the Falcons have had five players selected to the PFW/PFWA All-Rookie team. Jones, Bosher and Dent and Jones join LB Curtis Lofton and QB Matt Ryan who made the team after the 2008 season.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content