Skip to main content

Getting the Votes


With the fans' portion of Pro Bowl voting now over, the results are in. Quarterback Matt Ryan finished in the top 10 overall vote-getters while wide receiver Roddy White and tight end Tony Gonzalez led their respective positions in the NFC in votes. Teams will be announced Dec. 28

With fan voting over for the 2011 Pro Bowl, it looks like the Atlanta Falcons could be well-represented.

Quarterback Matt Ryan finished in the top-10 overall, right at the No. 10 spot, with 704, 817 fan votes.

Wide receiver Roddy White and tight end Tony Gonzalez finished atop their positions. White pulled in 595,001 votes — the most for any NFC receiver — and Gonzalez earned 458,527 votes.

Fan voting ended Monday and the teams will be announced at 7 p.m. ET Tuesday on a special NFL Total Access 2011 Pro Bowl Selection Show on NFL Network.

New England Patriots QB Tom Brady received 1,877,079 votes to lead all NFL All-Stars in fan balloting for the 2011 Pro Bowl.

There was a record 98.59 million votes cast on, on wireless phones and on Facebook. Fans cast 89.52 million votes on, 8.50 million votes on their wireless phones and 570,000 votes on Facebook.

The AFC and NFC All-Star squads are based on the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third towards determining the 43-man rosters that represent the American Football Conference and National Football Conference in the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes today and Thursday.

Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Michael Vick (1,522,437) leads all NFC voting and ranks second overall, while Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning (1,130,399 votes), San Diego Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers (1,039,618 votes) and New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees (971,731 votes) round out the top five.

The 2011 Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 30, 2011 and televised live on FOX at 7 p.m. (ET) at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hi.

The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It was the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content