Skip to main content

Falcons Set Record For Penalty-Free Play


The Falcons set a slew of franchise records during the 2012 season, but they also set at least two NFL records. Under the discplined direction of head coach Mike Smith, the Falcons set a league record for the fewest accepted penalties during a 16-game season.

The Falcons were penalized just 55 times during the regular season, breaking the mark of 57 the Patriots set in 2008. Prior to this season, the Falcons were second on the all-time list with 58 penalties during the 2010 season.

Recording as few penalties as possible has been a consistent theme under Smith during his tenure with the Falcons and it has shown in their play during every season since 2008. The Falcons since then have ranked in the top 10 each season in terms of the fewest penalties.

Atlanta also set the league record for fewest penalty yards during a 16-game season. Keeping their penalties as minimal as possible led the Falcons to be penalized only 415 yards this past season, snapping Seattle's record of 428 set in 2007. New England (1993), Denver (478) and Arizona (1999) round out the top five.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content