Falcons Announce Salute to HS Football Winners

The Falcons, the Georgia World Congress Center Authority and Levy Restaurants, along with Ford hosted the sixth annual Salute to High School Football Reception for GHSA-affiliated head football coaches on Saturday, December 13.

The reception, held in the Owners Club of the Georgia Dome, provided an opportunity for coaches to mingle and offered opportunities to win several prizes.

With head coach Mike Smith in attendance, President & CEO Rich McKay presented the 2014 Classification Coach of the Year Awards, the 2014 Warrick Dunn Captain in the Community of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Award during the first and second quarter break of the first High School State Championship game.

The winners included:

Class A-Mike Swaney – Marion County High School

Class AA-Tim Hardy – Greater Atlanta Christian School

Class AAA-Joel Ingram – Washington County High School

Class AAAA-John Hunt – Woodward Academy

Class AAAAA-Franklin Stephens – Ware County High School

Class AAAAAA-Rush Propst – Colquitt County High School

Warrick Dunn Captain in the Community of the Year- Stevie Powers – Benedictine Military School

Lifetime Achievement Award- Ralph Swearngin – Georgia High School Association

The Warrick Dunn Captain in the Community of the Year Award recognized an outstanding varsity high school football student-athlete in the state of Georgia that demonstrated strong leadership skills both on and off the field.  The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to the person who has significantly impacted high school football in the state of Georgia.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content