Skip to main content

Falcons announce release of seven players


FLOWERY BRANCH, Ga. – The Atlanta Falcons today released seven players including, safety Eric Brock, cornerback Glenn Sharpe, offensive tackle Adam Speer, offensive guard Ryan Stanchek, cornerback Tony Tiller, center Ben Wilkerson and wide receiver Chandler Williams.

Brock was signed by the Falcons as a rookie free agent on May 19, 2008. He spent the majority of last season on the team's practice squad before being elevated to the 53-man roster for the season finale against St. Louis.

Sharpe was brought in by Atlanta as a rookie free agent on April 28, 2008 and competed on the team's practice squad before being signed to the 53-man roster for the final two games of the '08 campaign.

Tiller was signed by the Falcons on February 3, 2009 after previously competing with the Georgia Force of the AFL (2008) and Calgary Stampeders and BC Lions of the CFL (2005-07).

Wilkerson spent two seasons with the Falcons, playing in 29 games primarily on special teams.

Williams was signed to the Falcons as a free agent on April 29, 2008 and following his release after training camp last year, was signed to the practice squad on November 11, 2008.

Speer and Stanchek were all signed as rookie free agents by the Falcons following the 2009 NFL Draft.

The Falcons need to release 13 additional players tomorrow by 4 p.m. to complete the NFL's mandated roster cutdown to a maximum of 53 players.


TRANSACTIONS:Click here for a list of all the team's 2009 transactions * DEPTH CHART:Click here for the updated Falcons Depth Chart * ROSTER:Click here for the 53-man roster as of Saturday * BOARDS:Discuss the moves on the FalconsLIFE message board * NEWS:Falcons release 13, get to 53-man roster * NEWS:Falcons release seven players after preseason finale

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content