Skip to main content

Draft Wing Tips, Vol. 3


Building Blocks

General manager Thomas Dimitroff's philosophy is centered on building a team through the Draft. Since 2008, the Falcons have selected a solid nucleus of players. In fact, 12 of Atlanta's 22 starters in 2010 were originally drafted by the Falcons (listed below), with eight of those players being drafted under Dimitroff (* below).

2010 Starters Drafted By Atlanta

Conference Calls

With 26 Draft selections in three years at the helm, Dimitroff has tapped into players in 10 conferences. Below is the breakdown:

SEC: CB Chevis Jackson (LSU), RB Thomas Brown (Georgia), TE Keith Zinger (LSU), DT Peria Jerry (Mississippi), DT Corey Peters (Kentucky), OL Mike Johnson (Alabama) * Big 12: LB Curtis Lofton (Oklahoma), S William Moore (Missouri), LB Sean Weatherspoon (Missouri), CB Dominique Franks (Oklahoma), WR Kerry Meier (Kansas) * Pac-10: OT Sam Baker (USC), S Thomas DeCoud (California), LB Robert James (Arizona State), CB Wilfrey Fontenot (Arizona) * ACC: QB Matt Ryan (Boston College), OT Garrett Reynolds (North Carolina), LB Spencer Adkins (Miami), DT Vance Walker (Georgia Tech) * Big Sky: DE Kroy Biermann (Montana), S Shann Schillinger (Montana) * Big East: WR Harry Douglas (Louisville) * Western Athletic: CB Chris Owens (San Jose State) * Atlantic 10: DE Lawrence Sidbury (Richmond) * Southern Conference: CB William Middleton (Furman) * Mountain West: C Joe Hawley (UNLV)


The following is a list of players that will be attending the 2011 NFL Draft at Radio City Music Hall in New York City this week:

CB Prince Amukamara (Nebraska) * LB Akeem Ayers (UCLA) * DE Adrian Clayborn (Iowa) * WR Randall Cobb (Kentucky) * DT Marcell Dareus (Alabama) * DT Nick Fairley (Auburn) * QB Blaine Gabbert (Missouri) * WR AJ Green (Georgia) * LB Mark Herzlich (Boston College) * RB Mark Ingram (Alabama) * DE Cameron Jordan (California) * WR Julio Jones (Alabama) * DE Ryan Kerrigan (Purdue) * DT Corey Liuget (Illinois) * LB Von Miller (Texas A&M) * S Rahim Moore (UCLA) * QB Cam Newton (Auburn) * CB Patrick Peterson (LSU) * G/C Mike Pouncey (Florida) * DE Aldon Smith (Missouri) * T Tyron Smith (Southern Cal) * DT Phil Taylor (Baylor) * G Danny Watkins (Baylor) * DE JJ Watt (Wisconsin) *pictured above * RB Ryan Williams (Virginia Tech)

Related Links

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content