Skip to main content

5 Reasons to Be Excited for the 2016 Pro Bowl

Pro Bowl rookies—RB Devonta Freeman, CB Desmond Trufant and FB Patrick DiMarco are playing in the all-star game for the first time.

Uniforms- Freeman, Trufant, DiMaro and Julio Jones will all be rocking Nike's new Vapor Untouchable uniform during the game. The gold on the jersey was incorporated to go along with the Super Bowl 50 theme the NFL is using. Even though it will be weird seeing them in something other than black and red, of course.


Trufant vs. Odell Beckham—When the Falcons matched up against the Giants at MetLife Stadium in the 2015 season, Beckham didn't see much of Trufant. According to Pro Football Focus, Trufant was the only player in Week 2 to play more than 50 snaps and not be thrown at during the entire game.  The highly anticipated matchup is likely to happen at some point in tonight's game.

DiMarco gets to block for Freeman again—Much of Freeman's success this season was in large part due to the lane-clearing blocks that DiMarco laid out for him. Tonight, the NFL's* *top ranked fullback, according to Pro Football Focus, will put his talents on display.

Team Irvin stacked with tall receivers—A.J. Green, DeAndre Hopkins, Allen Robinson and Jones are the receivers representing Team Irvin. All four of those players measure over 6-foot-2. Expect to see QB Russell Wilson, Jameis Winston and Teddy Bridgewater throw the ball up high tonight, as not a single cornerback on Team Rice is over six-foot tall.

Here's a look at the full roster for Team Irvin:
Coach:Winston Moss (Packers associate head coach)
QB:Russell Wilson (1st pick), Jameis Winston, Teddy Bridgewater
RB:Devonta Freeman (captain), Todd Gurley, Latavius Murray
WR:Julio Jones, A.J. Green, DeAndre Hopkins, Allen Robinson
TE:Delanie Walker, Tyler Eifert
FB:Patrick DiMarco
OT:Branden Albert, Tyron Smith, Andrew Whitworth
G:David DeCastro, Zack Martin, Marshal Yanda
C:Travis Frederick, Alex Mack
DefenseDL:Ezekiel Ansah, Michael Bennett, Carlos Dunlap, Geno Atkins (captain), Calais Campbell, Jurrell Casey
LB:Anthony Barr, Lavonte David, Sean Lee, NaVorro Bowman, Derrick Johnson
DB:Richard Sherman, Desmond Trufant, Reshad Jones, Adam Jones, Malcolm Jenkins, Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, Harrison Smith
Special TeamsK:Dan Bailey
P:Sam Koch
KR:Darren Sproles
PR:Justin Bethel

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content