Skip to main content

College Title Game Experience Prevalent on Falcons Roster


It's no criteria to be drafted by the Atlanta Falcons, but having national championship experience in your respective college football division doesn't hurt.

The Falcons ended the 2012 season with 12 players on their roster that played in a national championship game while in college, eight of which won.

Julio Jones and Mike Johnson were teammates on Alabama's 2009 national championship team and they're joined by Mike Peterson, Chris Hope, Sam Baker, Justin Blalock, Dominique Franks, Josh Harris and Drew Davis as players that played in the FBS National Championship Game. Kroy Biermann, Lawrence Sidbury and Shann Schillinger each played in the FCS National Championship Game.

Peterson, Hope, Baker, Blalock and Harris joined Jones and Johnson as winners of college football's biggest prize. Sidbury is the only player of the three FCS players to win their national title game.

Falcons GM Thomas Dimitroff signed or drafted 11 of the players to add to the Falcons with Blalock being the only player left off that list. The guard was drafted by Atlanta in the 2007 draft. Baker, Franks, Johnson, Jones, Biermann, Sidbury and Schillinger were all draft picks of the Falcons and Harris and Davis were signed as college free agents.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content