Ryan, Worrilow and Weems Named Team Captains

QB Matt Ryan, LB Paul Worrilow and WR Eric Weems will represent as team captains for the 2015 season.

For the first time since the NFL instituted the captains patch in 2007, the Atlanta Falcons will have three players who represent as team captains and wear the "C" patch for every game during the 2015 season.

Dan Quinn announced that the captains are QB Matt Ryan, WR Eric Weems and LB Paul Worrilow.

The players voted on Monday during a team meeting and their selections were revealed to the team at Tuesday's team meeting prior to the start of Week 1 preparations.

Quinn has implemented honorary captains for every preseason game, and mentioned that the team would vote on season-long captains before the regular season.

Ryan has been designated a captain at the end of each season upon his arrival to Atlanta in 2008 and has been to three Pro Bowls. Constantly praised for his calm personality when under pressure, the elite quarterback is the backbone to this offense.

Worrilow is in his third year after signing as free agent out of Delaware and has evolved into one of the main leaders on defense. The hard working, run-stopping linebacker plays with a passion that continually ignites the rest of his team.

Weems is a spark plug for the team who constantly provides energy, especially on special teams. The speedy receiver quickly became a fan-favorite after earning Pro Bowl honors in 2010 and was also signed by Atlanta as an undrafted rookie free agent out of Bethune-Cookman in 2007.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content