Skip to main content

Falcons announce initial 53-man roster for 2023

Atlanta waived 26 players, released five players and placed two players on injured reserve prior to Tuesday's deadline.

FLOWERY BRANCH, Ga. — And then there were 53.

The Atlanta Falcons announced their initial 53-man roster for the regular season Tuesday, right on time with the NFL's 4 p.m. deadline. The Falcons' 90-man roster was technically already down to 86 after four players — cornerback Bless Austin, offensive lineman Jalen Mayfield, defensive linemen Delontae Scott and Justin Ellis — were released last Saturday. So, Atlanta just needed to take another 33 off the active list.

In order to do so, the Falcons waived 26 players, released five players and placed two players on injured reserve.

Again, Tuesday signifies Atlanta's initial 53-man roster. It is not set in stone. It likely never will be, even after the Falcons' regular season officially begins Sept. 10 (1 p.m., FOX) against Carolina Panthers at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

Also, keep in mind, the Falcons will be able to begin signing 16 players to their practice squad at noon Wednesday. Many of these names could be back.

In the meantime, below is a look at how everything played out Tuesday. Players are listed by jersey number. Tables should not be read as a depth chart.

We take a look at the players on the current 53-man roster for the 2023 Atlanta Falcons, sponsored by Veepio.


Table inside Article
QB Desmond Ridder Logan Woodside Taylor Heinicke
RB Bijan Robinson Cordarrelle Patterson Keith Smith Tyler Allgeier
WR Drake London Josh Ali KhaDarel Hodge Mack Hollins Scotty Miller
TE John FitzPatrick Jonnu Smith Kyle Pitts MyCole Pruitt
OL Chris Lindstrom Drew Dalman Jake Matthews Joshua Miles Jovaughn Gwyn Kaleb McGary Kyle Hinton Matthew Bergeron Ryan Neuzil


Table inside Article
LB Arnold Ebiketie Bud Dupree DeAngelo Malone Kaden Elliss Lorenzo Carter Nate Landman Tae Davis Troy Andersen
DB A.J. Terrell Clark Phillips III DeMarcco Hellams Dee Alford Jaylinn Hawkins Jeff Okudah Jessie Bates III Mike Hughes Richie Grant Tre Flowers
DL Albert Huggins Calais Campbell David Onyemata Grady Jarrett Joe Gaziano Ta'Quon Graham Zach Harrison


Table inside Article
K Younghoe Koo
P Bradley Pinion
LS Liam McCullough


Table inside Article
Cornell Armstrong, DB J.J. Arcega-Whiteside, WR Micah Abernathy, DB
Penny Hart, WR Breon Borders, DB Slade Bolden, WR
Jonotthan Harrison, OL Natrone Brooks, DB
Andre Smith Jr., LB Cliff Chatman, DB
Kemoko Turay, LB Carlos Davis, DL
Lukas Denis, DB
Tucker Fisk, TE
Frank Ginda, LB
Darren Hall, DB
Demone Harris, DL
Keilahn Harris, WR
Parker Hesse, TE
Timmy Horne, DL
Godwin Igwebuike, RB
Mike Jones, LB
LaCale London, DL
Zay Malone, WR
Michal Menet, OL
Caeveon Patton, DL
Clint Ratkovich, RB
Trevor Reid, OL
Mathew Sexton, WR
Justin Shaffer, OL
Tyler Vrabel, OL
Carlos Washington Jr., RB
Barry Wesley, OL

Related Content