Skip to main content

Falcons announce initial 53-man roster heading into 2022 regular season

Dee Alford, three undrafted free agents make team after standout preseason performances

FLOWERY BRANCH, Ga. -- The Falcons have formally pared their roster down to 53. It dropped from 80 on Tuesday, when the NFL mandated roster size decreased to regular-season levels.

The team announced its initial 53-man roster, along with 27 transactions to reach that number.

Before we go any further, there's word in the previous sentence that should be highlighted.


This roster construction will change as we move forward, more than once before a Week 1 home game against the Saints. The first wave of changes could happen soon and, if last year was any indication, the Falcons will continue churning the roster throughout the season.

But, for right now, here's the Falcons' 53-man roster:

Table inside Article
Number Name Position
1 Marcus Mariota QB
3 Mykal Walker ILB
4 Desmond Ridder QB
5 Drake London WR
6 Damien Williams RB
7 Younghoe Koo K
8 Kyle Pitts TE
9 Lorenzo Carter OLB
12 KhaDarel Hodge WR
13 Bradley Pinion P
14 Damiere Byrd WR
15 Feleipe Franks TE
17 Olamide Zaccheaus WR
21 Dean Marlowe S
23 Erik Harris S
24 A.J. Terrell CB
25 Tyler Allgeier RB
26 Isaiah Oliver CB
27 Richie Grant S
28 Mike Ford CB
29 Casey Hayward CB
32 Jaylinn Hawkins S
34 Darren Hall DB
35 Avery Williams RB
37 Dee Alford CB
40 Keith Smith FB
44 Troy Andersen ILB
45 Deion Jones ILB
46 Parker Hesse TE
47 Arnold Ebiketie OLB
48 Liam McCullough LS
51 DeAngelo Malone OLB
54 Rashaan Evans ILB
55 Nate Landman ILB
56 Quinton Bell OLB
61 Matt Hennessy OL
63 Chris Lindstrom OL
67 Drew Dalman OL
68 Elijah Wilkinson OL
70 Jake Matthews OL
74 Germain Ifedi OL
76 Kaleb McGary OL
77 Jalen Mayfield OL
83 Jared Bernhardt WR
84 Cordarrelle Patterson RB
87 John FitzPatrick TE
89 Bryan Edwards WR
90 Marlon Davidson DL
92 Ade Ogundeji OLB
93 Timothy Horne DL
94 Anthony Rush DL
95 Ta'Quon Graham DL
97 Grady Jarrett DL

We take a look at the initial 53-man roster for 2022.

The Falcons released 27 players from their roster. Many members of the list below could return to the team, via a 16-player practice squad that will be announced on Wednesday.


WR Frank Darby

DL Derrick Tangelo

WR KeeSean Johnson

WR Cameron Batson

OL Justin Shaffer

DB Corey Ballentine

TE Anthony Firkser

TE Tucker Fisk

ILB Nick Kwiatkoski

OL Jonotthan Harrison

RB Caleb Huntley

TE MyCole Pruitt

OL Ryan Nuezil

OL Tyler Vrabel

DL Abdullah Anderson

OL Colby Gossett

WR Stanley Berryhill

DL Darrion Daniels

RB Qadree Ollison

OL Leroy Watson

OLB Jordan Brailford

DB Matt Hankins

DL Nick Thurman

S Henry Black

S Teez Tabor


ILB Dorian Etheridge

FB John Raine

Call for questions

You have questions after seeing the initial Falcons 53-man roster? Submit them right here for inclusion in Wednesday's mailbag.

Related Content