Falcons Clinch Division Title!

Posted Dec 2, 2012

Your Falcons are NFC South champions again! A Tampa Bay loss to the Denver Broncos on Sunday night secured the division title for the Falcons, guaranteeing them one of the top four spots in the NFC playoffs.

The Falcons are NFC South champions.

Coming into Sunday in the driver's seat in the NFC, the Falcons needed some help to clinch a playoff spot this week. They didn't get it earlier in the day when Seattle beat Chicago 23-17 in overtime, but the night got sweeter when Denver beat Tampa Bay 31-23, securing the NFC South title for the Falcons.

This means the Falcons will be one of the top four seeds in the NFC and host at least one playoff game at the Georgia Dome.

The Falcons' last NFC South title came in 2010. They also earned the No. 1 seed in the NFC playoffs that year.

The next step for the Falcons will be earning home-field advantage throughout the playoffs, and we'll have those scenarions on as soon as they're determined. The Falcons were helped out by San Francisco's 16-13 loss to St. Louis in overtime and the Bears' loss to Seattle.

Under head coach Mike Smith, the Falcons have won two division titles and reached the playoffs in four of the last five seasons. Atlanta sits atop the NFC with an 11-1 record, marking the third straight season that the Falcons have posted 10 wins or more. This season marks the first time in club history that Atlanta has made for the playoffs in three consecutive seasons. The Falcons have now won five division titles in franchise history, including wins in 1980, 1998, 2004 and 2010.

Order your NFC South champions merchandise from!

Please Note

The opinions, analysis and/or speculation expressed on represent those of the individual authors. Unless quoted or clearly labeled as such, do not represent the opinions or policies of the Atlanta Falcons’ organization, front office staff, coaches and executives. The writers’ views are formulated independently from any inside knowledge and/or conversations with Falcons officials, including the coaches and scouts, unless otherwise noted.